Peru is a sum of traditions, cultures, languages. Peru is like the Amazon River, which is born from the union of several tributaries until its immensity is achieved. Peru was born this way. Indigenous, European, African and Asiatic blood flow in the Peruvians veins. This combination is our strength and pride.

Requirements for entering Peru

Peru is basically a country of open doors. Citizens of most American and Western European countries do not require a tourist visa. The maximum period of stay is 183 days (cannot be extended). For longer periods of time for other purposes (business, study, work, etc.), it is necessary to apply for the corresponding visa at a Peruvian consulate.

In order to enter Peru you must carry a valid passport. Citizens of Argentina, Brazil, Paraguay, Uruguay, Ecuador, Colombia, Bolivia, Venezuela and Chile may enter with their valid national identification document.

Currency

The “Sol” (S/) is the official currency of Peru.  There are notes of the following denominations: 10, 20, 50, 100 and 200 soles. Coins are 10, 20 and 50 cents, as well as 1, 2 and 5 Soles.

Many shops, restaurants, hotels and gas stations also accept US Dollars. It is possible to exchange currency in banks and currency exchange agencies. There are also “cambistas” (street currency exchangers), but these are not recommended. Currency exchange agencies are regularly open from 9:00 am to 6:00 pm, from Monday to Friday, and half day on Saturdays.

Most cities have ATMs connected in most cases to Plus (Visa), Cirrus (MasterCard/Maestro), American Express and other networks. You may withdraw Soles or US Dollars, although the exchange rates tend to be less favorable.

Time zone

Peru has one time zone -5h, GMT

Lima 12:00 h London 17:00 h
New York 12:00 h Berlin 18:00 h
Buenos Aires 14:00 h Paris 18:00 h
Santiago 13:00 h Tokyo 02:00 h (*)

* of the next day

Health

Hygienic conditions in Peru are good, particularly in the cities. Over the last year health services have been modernized and expanded to many hospitals and clinics in order provide adequate care; however it is always advisable to purchase your own travel health insurance.

There are no mandatory vaccines for entry into Peru. Should you wish to visit the Amazonian region of the country, the Ministry of Health recommends vaccinations against yellow fever.

Consulates and Embassies

Duty-free items

In line with Peruvian customs regulations, those used or new items that a traveler may reasonably require for use or consumption, and that due to their nature, quantity and variety are not assumed to be for commercial use, are considered as duty-free items.

For more information check the list of exempt items here. When entering Peru, the traveler must fill out the Official Luggage Declaration, which indicates all items that are subject to duty.

Additional information

The electrical current used in Peru is 220 volts, 60 cycles, except in Arequipa, where they use 50 cycles.

Tipping is not very common, it depends on the satisfaction with the service you are given. You may leave up to 10% if you feel it is appropriate.